Due to the Supreme Court decision regarding South Dakota v. Wayfair, Inc., (2018), states may charge tax on purchases made from out-of-state sellers, even if the seller does not have a physical presence in the taxing state.  Following the U.S. Supreme Court’s decision, Arkansas, California, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Georgia, Illinois, Missouri, New Jersey, North Carolina, Texas and Vermont have started enforcing remote sales tax collection.  As a result, as of June 1, 2019, Call2Recycle® will begin collecting tax on sales made from the above-mentioned states.  Stewardship fees are not impacted by this change.

Posted in: General, Tax